

Chatham County - Savannah Metropolitan Planning Commission

Arthur A. Mendonsa Hearing Room July 17, 2018 ~ 1:30 PM Minutes

July 17, 2018 Regular MPC Meeting

Members Present: Joseph B. Ervin, Chairman

Linder S. Suthers, Secretary Tom Woiwode, Treasurer

Travis H. Coles Ellis Cook

Roberto Hernandez Lacy Manigault Tanya Milton Lee Smith

Members Not Present: Thomas Branch

Karen Jarrett Joseph Welch

Staff Present: Melanie Wilson, Executive Director

Marcus Lotson, Director of Development Services Matt Lonnerstater, Development Services Planner

Jessica Hagan, Administrative Assistant

Julie Yawn, Systems Analyst

Advisory Staff Present: Tiras Petrea, Principal Zoning Inspector

Bob Sebek, Chatham County Zoning Administrator Yalonda Washington, Chatham County Zoning

- I. Call to Order and Welcome
- II. Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance
- III. Approval of Agenda
 - 1. Approval of Agenda

Motion

Recommend APPROVAL of the agenda as submitted.

Vote Results (Approved)

Motion: Tanya Milton Second: Linder Suthers

Ellis Cook - Aye

Joseph Ervin - Aye

W. Lee Smith	- Aye
Roberto Hernandez	- Aye
Linder Suthers	- Aye
Tom Woiwode	- Aye
Travis Coles	- Aye
Joseph Welch	- Not Present
Tom Branch	- Not Present
Lacy Manigault	- Aye
Tanya Milton	- Aye

IV. Notices, Proclamations and Acknowledgements

- 2. July 17, 2018 Finance Committee Meeting, 11:00 A.M., Meyers Conference Room, 110 E. State Street.
- 3. July 24, 2018 Planning Meeting, 1:00 P.M. Arthur A. Mendonsa Hearing Room, 112 E. State Street

V. Item(s) Requested to be Removed from the Final Agenda

4. REZONING MAP AMENDMENT | Mason Laycock as Agent for Copart of Connecticut, Inc., Petitioner | Request to rezone property from R-A (Residential Agriculture) and P-B-C (Planned, Community Business) to P-B (Planned, Business) | Silk Hope Road (one 12.56 acre parcel) | Z-180427-00065-1

Motion	
The petitioner has requested that this item be postponed to the Regular Meeting on August 7, 2018.	
Vote Results (Approved)	
Motion: Linder Suthers	
Second: Travis Coles	
Ellis Cook	- Aye
Joseph Ervin	- Aye
W. Lee Smith	- Aye
Roberto Hernandez	- Aye
Linder Suthers	- Aye
Tom Woiwode	- Aye
Travis Coles	- Aye
Joseph Welch	- Not Present
Tom Branch	- Not Present
Lacy Manigault	- Aye
Tanya Milton	- Aye

VI. Items Requested to be Withdrawn

5. REZONING MAP AMENDMENT | 711 E Bolton Street | P-B-G-2 (Planned General Business Transition) to R-I-P-B (Residential Institutional Professional Medium Density) | MPC File No. 18-001798-ZA

Motion

The petitioner has requested for this item to be withdrawn from the agenda.

Vote Results (Approved)

Motion: Linder Suthers
Second: Ellis Cook

Ellis Cook - Aye
Joseph Ervin - Aye
W. Lee Smith - Aye
Roberto Hernandez - Aye
Linder Suthers - Aye
Tom Woiwode - Aye
Travis Coles - Aye

Joseph Welch - Not Present
Tom Branch - Not Present

Lacy Manigault - Aye
Tanya Milton - Aye

6. ZONING MAP AMENDMENT | James and Robert Anderson | Rezone property from R-6 to B-G | 2819 Ogeechee Road (3 parcels) | File no. 18-003343-ZA

Motion

The petitioner has requested for this item to be withdrawn from the agenda.

Vote Results (Approved)

Motion: Linder Suthers Second: Ellis Cook

Ellis Cook - Aye Joseph Ervin - Aye W. Lee Smith - Aye Roberto Hernandez - Aye **Linder Suthers** - Aye Tom Woiwode - Aye **Travis Coles** - Aye Lacy Manigault - Aye Tanya Milton - Aye

The Consent Agenda consists of items for which the applicant is in agreement with the staff recommendation and for which no known objections have been identified nor anticipated by staff. Any objections raised at the meeting will result in the item being moved to the Regular Agenda. At a 12:30 briefing, the staff will brief the Commission on Consent Agenda items and, time permitting, Regular Agenda items. No testimony will be taken from applicants, supporters or opponents, and no votes will be taken at the briefing.

VII. Consent Agenda

7. June 26, 2018 Briefing and Regular Meeting Minutes

- **Ø** 06.26.18 MEETING MINUTES.pdf
- ∅ 06-26-18 MPC BRIEFING MINUTES.pdf

Motion

Recommend APPROVAL of the Briefing and Regular Meeting Minutes.

Vote Results (Approved)

Motion: Tom Woiwode Second: Travis Coles

Ellis Cook - Aye Joseph Ervin - Aye W. Lee Smith - Aye Roberto Hernandez - Aye **Linder Suthers** - Aye Tom Woiwode - Aye **Travis Coles** - Aye Joseph Welch - Not Present

Tom Branch - Not Present
Lacy Manigault - Aye

Tanya Milton - Aye

VIII. Old Business

- 8. ZONING TEXT AMENDMENT | Request to permit residential housing types in the T-B (Tourist Business) zoning district | Z-180418-00051-1
 - Staff Report 07172018.pdf
 - TB Zoned Properties.pdf
 - **Ø** T-B Use List.pdf

Motion

Staff recommends approval of the request to amend the T-B zoning classification to permit certain residential housing types with the conditions noted in the staff report to include the site plan.

Vote Results (Approved)

Motion: Travis Coles Second: Tanya Milton

Ellis Cook - Aye

Joseph Ervin - Aye

W. Lee Smith - Aye

Roberto Hernandez - Aye

Linder Suthers - Nay
Tom Woiwode - Aye
Travis Coles - Aye

Joseph Welch - Not Present
Tom Branch - Not Present

Lacy Manigault - Aye
Tanya Milton - Aye

IX. Regular Business

9. ZONING MAP AMENDMENT | Keith White | Rezone from R-A-CO zoning district to RB-1 | 161 Canebrake Road | File No. 18-003471-ZA

- Table 2. RA Use Matrix.pdf
- Table 3. RB-1 Use Matrix.pdf
- Letter of Opposition 3471.pdf
- @ Maps 3471.pdf
- Photos and Aerials 3471.pdf
- Staff Report-18-003471-ZA-MAP.pdf
- © Site Plan 11-Jul-2018 17-26-46.pdf

Motion

MPC staff recommends approval of the request to rezone 161 Canebrake Road from RA-CO (Residential Agriculture - Annexed) to RB-1 (Residential - Business).

Vote Results (Approved)

Motion: Travis Coles Second: Tanya Milton

Ellis Cook - Aye
Joseph Ervin - Aye
W. Lee Smith - Aye
Roberto Hernandez - Aye
Linder Suthers - Nay
Tom Woiwode - Aye
Travis Coles - Aye

Joseph Welch - Not Present
Tom Branch - Not Present

Lacy Manigault - Aye
Tanya Milton - Aye

X. Presentations

XI. Other Business

10. Chairman to Appoint Nominating Committee

The Chairman appointed Mr. Lacy Manigault, Mr. Ellis Cook and Ms. Karen Jarrett for the Nominating Committee.

XII. Adjournment

11. Adjourn

XIII. Development Plans Submitted for Review

12. Development Plans Submitted for Review

Development Review Case Log July 17 2018.pdf

Melanie Wilson, Executive Director

The Chatham County - Savannah Metropolitan Planning Commission provides meeting minutes which are adopted by the respective Board. Verbatim transcripts of minutes are the responsibility of the interested party.