Savannah Zoning Board of Appeals

The Savannah Zoning Board of Appeals (SZBA) is a quasi-judicial body created pursuant to the State of Georgia General Planning Enabling Act of 1957. The SZBA hears appeals of decisions by the Zoning Administrator and certain other boards in the City, evaluates and approves some uses within specific zoning districts, hears requests for variances from development standards, and considers requests for extensions of nonconforming uses. The seven members of the Board are appointed by the Mayor and the Alderman of the City of Savannah, The Chatham County - Savannah MPC provides three staff members to support the SZBA, and the three Technical Advisors are City of Savannah employees.

The City of Savannah Zoning Board of Appeals regular meeting is held every fourth Thursday at 10:00 a.m. at 112 E. State Street and is open to the public. Those with business to conduct with the City of Savannah Zoning Board of Appeals are directed to the Applications, Instructions, and Forms section of this website to obtain the correct form(s). Please note the meeting cutoff dates on the calendar of meetings below. Cutoff time is the close of business (typically 5:00 p.m.).

2020 Meetings
Meeting Date Cutoff Date Agenda Minutes Audio
Jan 23, 2020 Dec 13, 2019 Agenda Minutes Audio
Feb 27, 2020 Jan 31, 2020 Agenda Minutes Audio
Mar 26, 2020 Feb 28, 2020 Cancelled
Apr 23, 2020 Mar 27, 2020 Postponed
May 28, 2020 May 01, 2020 Agenda Minutes Audio
Jun 25, 2020 May 29, 2020 Cancelled
Jul 23, 2020 Jun 26, 2020 Agenda Minutes Audio
Aug 27, 2020 Jul 31, 2020 Agenda Minutes Audio
Sep 24, 2020 Aug 28, 2020 Agenda
Oct 22, 2020 Sep 25, 2020
Nov 19, 2020 Oct 23, 2020
Dec 17, 2020 Nov 13, 2020
Board Members
Tommy Branch, III, Chairman
Stephen Merriman, Jr., Vice Chairman
Michael Brown
Michael Condon
Trapper Griffith
Hunter Hall
Willie James
Staff: Marcus Lotson, Secretary